• VNSGU senate election ends peacefully in Surat
     August 13th, 2012     Kunal     Posted in Education In Gujarat, Gujarat in News

    Barring minor skirmishes, the voting in elections for 25 seats of Veer Narmad South Gujarat University (VNSGU) senate passed off peacefully at 44 centres across south Gujarat. BJP supporters led by party councillors created a ruckus at a polling booth in Dharukawala College in Varachha when they demanded keeping Hoshang Mirza, the science faculty registered graduate seat candidate, out of the booth.

    Mirza refused to leave the polling station after which BJP supporters reportedly tried to jostle him out. “I informed the police control room and university higher authorities about the issue after which I was allowed to sit in the booth. A candidate can sit in the polling booth for which he has been given an identity card. The BJP supporters were led by Bhimji Patel and they used muscle power to pressurise me,” said Mirza.

    Patel, however, said that they were forced to intervene after Mirza attempted to pressurize the voters.” “We tried to talk politely with Mirza, but he started arguing, which agitated our supporters who forced him to go out,” he said. BJP president Purnesh Modi and many BJP councillors remained present at the polling booth in the Surat city to support ABVP candidates. Among Congress leaders, city Congress president, Ashok Jirawala had come to Dharukawala College to support Mirza. During voting, each student was asked to produce their voter’s card provided by VNSGU and other valid photo identity proof. Those without photo identity proof were not allowed to vote.

    “We received information of booth capturing in Bharuch, Gandevi and Pardi outside Surat city. The booths were captured by BJP supporters to carry out bogus voting,” alleged Mirza. “We have not received any major compliant about disturbance at any polling station. A minor tussle between two groups took place in Varachha and the situation was controlled with the help of police,” said Dakshesh Thakar, vice-chancellor, VNSGU.